REVIEW : Kick by Ali Dean

Kick

40408746

 

Blurb

Buzzing anticipation. Floating weightless. Adrenaline rush. All the best feelings wrapped into an emotional high that never gets old.

I think I might be addicted to falling in love.

When rising rock star Jack Kingston comes to play on our college campus, I think he’ll be just another fix. Instead, he flips everything around and makes me question who I am, what I want, and why I do what I do. After he leaves, everything changes.

Pushing myself in the pool, struggling to keep up with my twin sister, it’s what keeps me from losing myself entirely. Swimming isn’t my passion. It’s my source of stability. When I find the courage to finally start pushing my boundaries, I discover success in ways I never imagined, both in and out of the water.

When Jack resurfaces, I’m forced to decide between facing my fears or letting them spiral out of control as my past catches up with me… threatening to pull me back under. It’s time to sink or swim.

Quotes

  • “You’re a real Fireball, you know that?” He says, chuckling in my ear.
  • “In a Flash, The Rocker on stage is just this guy who is in love with a girl, a hot mess of a girl, and maybe he’s just as scared as I am.”
  • “ She was a train wreck. A beautiful one, but on a fast track to crash all the same. “

Image may contain: one or more people

 

Review

After reading The Line Below I couldn’t wait to read Kick’s book and man was it definetly worth the wait.

Lydia “Kick” Sparks is basically me in a book (minus all the partying part). I could relate to her on so many levels. Like not knowing what she wants to exacatly do in the future. So instead she drinks her nights away and has one night stands. The only time she feels in control. Little did she know that was about to change when she meets a sexy rockstar by the bame of Jack Kingston.

Jack Kingston is part of an up and coming rock band. When he meets Kick and all she wants is a one night stand with him, he declines knowing that he wants more than just a night. He’s not looking for just one night stands anymore he wants the real thing.

After that night Kick goes too overboard and decides it’s a time for a change. She instead focuses on her swimming and begins to excel. She also has a instagram and blog that begins to take off opening a future of possibilitites. But she has yet to overcome something that happened in her past.

Kick and Jack meet once again eight months later and the chemistry between them is off the charts. But to fully give her to Jack she must first overcome her past demons. Boy was Jack a big help to her during these times.

This story was emotional. I now need to go another box of Kleenex. Kick and Jack’s relationship was just so real. An overall great story

*Received this book in exchange for an honest review*

Published by Jessica

Personal Instagram: capturedbyjessie

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started